I Have Fingers of Thunder

Johny Thundersbeard does not procrastinate about writing

Today was a big success. Yes, I successfully

Firstly, apologies to those on my email list for all the “30 Day Blogging Challenge” entries. They are actually from last year, I am moving my writing.com blog from there to here in preparation of not getting another paid membership there. Means the blog has to go, so its going here. Fortunately, I worked out how to add the entries without them being emailed to everyone following this blog (I just publish them as private, then go back later and make them public).

Today was a big success. Yes, I successfully pulled my finger out.

I decided to set myself a writing routine. This new writing routine is just a stepping stone, a short term goal, to teaching myself to be more disciplined.  I’m going to enter two of the more prominent flash fiction competitions over at http://www.writing.com EACH day. Yes, two. Every day.

Ah hem.

Well, we’ll see how long this lasts, but the important part is that it offered the impetus I obviously needed. I wrote two flash fiction pieces tonight based on the challenge prompts. I didn’t intend for them to be anything but stream of consciousness pieces, with a focus on grammatical accuracy (ie. no run on sentences, my bane). But, as muses do, I was struck. By the second piece, I found myself continuing the dark western tale that I’ve been working on (and off) for over a year. Its officially the longest short story Ive attempted. A few little continuity errors here and there, and the tone doesn’t really match the earlier writings, but I can fix all that in the next draft. The important part is that I had a writing victory today. Actually, I had two.

Also, of interest is that to get me started on the first prompt I used the method that I described a few posts ago. The one where you write down what happened as an action sequence in the most simple of descriptions. My execution still needs some work, as I only lasted a sentence or two before resorting to more purple prose, but I’ll take what I can get, thanks!

One comment on “Today was a big success. Yes, I successfully

  1. Pingback: 6 Things That You Shouldn’t Be Doing | Seventeen 20

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

