I Have Fingers of Thunder

Johny Thundersbeard does not procrastinate about writing

It’s the end of the world and I feel fine

Blogging Challenge Day 2 – something about 2012 being the end of the world according to Aztec mythology. And therefore it’s a tragic year.

I was a superstitious boy. And a religious one too. I counted the days when I walked under a ladder, counted the years when I broke a mirror. I was filled with dread by the end of Revelations. I just knew the end of the world would come under my watch. I still can’t shake the morbid conviction that I will die at 52, this after reading a chart in a divination book when I was 17. And I don’t believe in anything these days.

I’ve since realized that there is an antidote to any misfortune. For broken mirrors, it’s picking up the pieces, remaking the mirrors images, and continuing using it. For walking under ladders, it’s walking back the way you came: backwards. Or reciting quickly under your breath: theyre actually stairs! They’re actually stairs!

For the record, I’ll be 52 in 2027. And I am doing my damnedest to make sure I live to at least 72. I want to see my daughter and my two sons as adults. Not just “I’m in my early twenties now dad!” kind of adult but the kind of adult they’ll be at 37. I want to be there when they look back on their lives and reflect. I want to see what they reflect upon. I don’t want to be just another broken reflection.

As for the Aztecs, I hear they were bastards. I bet they set that whole prophecy in motion just to be mean to each other and not help each other out in anyway.

Don’t worry about 2012 being the end of the world, for all the Aztecs knew it could be 2013 when the wold ends 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2012 by in Procrastination For Good Not Evil and tagged , .

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

